Nickodemus & Maharaj Trio - The Maharaj Project: 001
Available Digitally Worldwide Now

At the idyllic Splore Festival in New Zealand last February, a collaboration between two performing international artists was born. A plan was hatched by Mikee Tucker of Loop to bring the world beats of New York-based DJ/producer Nickodemus together with the Jugalbandi vibes of the Maharaj Trio from Varanasi, India. The result is The Maharaj Project: 001 – a blend of traditional melodic improvisation from India and the organic electronic beats of Nickodemus.

Each song was recorded live in one-take in Auckland with legendary engineer and former bass player for Cat Stevens, Bruce Lynch, over two sessions.

Vikash Maharaj and his sons Prabhash and Abhishek make up the Maharaj Trio – a North Indian musical family from Varanasi, whose musical tradition stretches back 500 years. With Vikash playing sarod, Prabhash on tablas and Abjishek on sitar, the trio play a unique style of improvised Indian classical music with elements of traditional jugalbandi. Well known as a producer and DJ, Nickodemus has been travelling the world since the mid-90’s.

Tracks one through four feature the Maharaj Trio showcasing their traditional sound which has seen them tour the world. Tracks five and six feature the Trio collaborating with Nickodemus, who brings his dance-floor perspective to the trio’s ancient ragas.

As a producer, Nickodemus has released three albums, three remixes albums, and ten compilations to date, with his latest solo album dropping March 2018 on his self-owned Wonderwheel Recordings. Nickodemus has sustained this energy and momentum for over 19 years, in the form of his famous ‘Turntables on the Hudson’ parties and his label, attracting artists from all over the world including Alsarah and the Nubatones, Novalima, The Pimps of Joytime, The Spy from Cairo, Chancha Via Circuito, Sorceress and many more to come.

With exquisite skill and artistry, this charismatic father-and-sons trio come from a long line (15 generations) of dedicated musicians. From Varanasi, India, they travel the world delighting international audiences with their heartfull, intricate ragas - breathing vitality into music that dates back thousands of years.

The Maharaj Project: 001 showcases the merging of two musical cultures, and two artists renowed as innovators in their field. Together the Maharaj Trio and Nickodemus combine to make an EP which pushes the expectations of both genres.  


01 – ‘Whanganui River’ – Maharaj Trio
02 – ‘Sangam’ – Maharaj Trio
03 – ‘Divine Love of Lord Krishna’ – Maharaj Trio
04 – ‘Asha (Splore)’ – Maharaj Trio
05 – ‘Southern Magnolia’ – Nickodemus & Maharaj Trio
06 – ‘Path of the Liger’ – Nickodemus & Maharaj Trio



For all media requests:
Dan Clist / Ph: +64 21 022 66195 / Email: [email protected]