We're proud to present the new album from Fly My PrettiesThe Studio Recordings Part Two!


The Studio Recordings Part Two is more of the fruits of the first studio sessions in their 15 year history. Recorded over 12 months with 25 total contributors, Part Two in the series sees Fly My Pretties dipping further into their back catalogue, with new versions of tracks from a wide range of contributors. 

Part Two sees frontman Barnaby Weir (The Black Seeds) performing alongside members of the Fly My Pretties whānau such as Anna Coddington, Bailey Wiley, A Girl Named Mo, Eva Prowse, Hollie Smith, Lisa Tomlins, Age Pryor, Iraia Whakamoe (The Nudge), James Coyle (The Nudge), Jarney Murphy (The Black Seeds), Laughton Kora, Mike Fabulous (Lord Echo), Nigel Patterson (The Black Seeds), Ryan Prebble (The Nudge), & others all contributing their talents. 

The second installment of Studio Recordings features a number of classic tracks from frontman Barnaby Weir, alongside tracks lead by some of the stunning wāhine Fly My Pretties have had the honour of highlighting throughout the years. The album’s unique sound represents the unique nature of Fly My Pretties - travelling effortlessly across soul, blues, folk and dub. 

Recorded at the spiritual home of Fly My Pretties, Wellington’s Surgery Studios, Part Two sees Dr Lee Prebble again at the desk taking the producing reins. The album features a number of classic tracks from the very first performances from Live At Bats, including ‘Lucky’, ‘Turn It Around’ & ‘All The Goodness’. These three show the evolution of Fly My Pretties, and the progression these tracks have been on since their original writing years back. 

Female vocalists have always been a key to the Fly My Pretties sound, and this album features studio versions of some of the most-stunning tracks in the FMP catalogue. ‘Mud & Stardust’, ‘Clarity’ & ‘Lie In The Land’ are just as powerful as their first versions, and put A Girl Named Mo, Hollie Smith & Eva Prowse front & centre. A dubbed-out version of ‘Heavy Weather’ appears alongside ‘The Watchman’, and the album closes with a blues-rock stomper ‘Hit The Hay’, lead by Ryan Prebble. 

The release comes as FMP get ready for their only theatre shows for 2020. Originally scheduled for May, they will now take place in November & December, and will see tracks from The Studio Recordings performed live by the largest cast in FMP history, alongside an enhanced visual backdrop. 

Full tour info available HERE