Loop Select 001

by Various / 2001

Release Notes

Slip the Loop Select 001 CD into your drive and you’ll find tracks from independent New Zealand musicians Cloudboy, Rhian Sheehan, Ekadek, TrinityRoots, Confucius, Solaa, The Black Seeds, Siena, Ebb, Peak:Shift, Harmonic FREq, Warren Field and Audio Sauce. Some are highlights of albums released the same year of Select 001 (2001), while a good number are exclusive or previously unreleased. Open the Select 001 Book and you’ll find visual accompaniment to match the music. Each CD artist was given free reign over a handful of its glossy pages. Some chose to provide their own visuals, others to enlist talented friends (like photographers Grant Sheehan and Sarah Hunter, or designers Fiona Jack and Arlo), and yet others chose to express themselves in words, or to simply let their music do the talking.

In addition, Select 001 brings you more words and pictures from equally talented contributors – visual instalments from Andrew Ginther and Mint01, sketches from the workbook of Anya Whitlock, cardboard cutout creations by EllieMay, author Jonar Nader’s musings on 'The Death Of Retail', fashion photography from Mikee, Barry Betham, Adrienne Pitts and Karen Djordjevic, highlights from the Dowse Art Museum’s recent exhibition 'The World As One', and winning works from the Nokia Arts Awards 2000. But the content doesn’t end there... Select 001 CD-Rom content includes music videos by Loop artists Rhian Sheehan and The Black Seeds (their award winning clip for 'Keep On Pushing'), an introduction to internet fashion personality Penny Star, fashion collections from Karen Walker, Marilyn Sainty, Little Brother and Mandatory, and links to Loop supporters who have made this whole project possible. 

01. Cloudboy – Red Rubicon
02. Rhian Sheehan – Waiting (Sea Of Tranquility mix)
03. Ekadek – Love In Your Eyes
04. TrinityRoots – Nothing To Be Loved
05. Confucius – Shanti Riddim
06. Solaa – Eyes Shut
07. The Black Seeds – Coming Back Home
08. Siena – Wunderland Ave
09. Ebb – Someone So True
10. Peak:Shift – Tick Tock
11. Harmonic FREq – Twink
12. Warren Field – Mind Over Matter
13. Audio Sauce – Simple (edit)