Loop Select 002

by Various / 2002

Release Notes

Loop Select 002 wrapped up the year 2001 with another time capsule of New Zealand’s creative culture.

And what a crazy year it was... September 11 changed the world, GE threatened to do so again, noise control sucked and political issues seemed to be on everyone’s mind – just check out the words and artwork making up the Loop Select 002 book for proof of that. Designer Nick McFarlane asks “Who owns New Zealand?”, Native Design and Jon Carapiet explore issues surrounding genetic engineering, Mint01 put their unique spin on the events of September 11, Paul Redican documents transitions taking place all around the world and photographer Ans Wenstra takes us 'Behind The Curtain' and inside the world of prostitution in New Zealand.

In the interests of feeling good, Jonar Nadar takes in the view from the balcony of life, and Native take the advice of Vitalogy and enjoy a good sleep. Easing your eyes is a selection of 'Good Work' from the Jim and Mary Barr collection, and great work from BoyGirlBoy and Aaron Beck. We looked at the Nokia Film Awards and backstage action at New Zealand Fashion Week 2001, and forward to the New Zealand Festival 2002.

On the musical front, 2001 was also another bumper year for New Zealand artists. On the Select 002 CD are selections from what we saw as the best independent releases of 2001, new tracks from some favourite artists and a bunch of fresh faces in the mix. Auckland hip- hopper Juse serves up a slinky slice of piano soul from the excellent Sugarlicks compilation Styles Upon Styles, while representing the Kog Transmissions camp, tracks from releases by Shapeshifter and Pitch Black. On the exclusive front we included fresh tracks from Fat Freddy’s Drop, The Black Seeds and Ekto, and Golden Bay artist Max Maxwell called in long distance with a track recorded in Sweden. Continuing our quest to unearth hot new talent, we introduced dub duo Spot X from Kaikoura, multitalented Mike Fabulous from Wellington and funky young thang Leroy La Qua from Auckland.

Featured on the Select 002 CD-Rom is TrinityRoots’ wonderful video for 'Little Things', and their send up of that world famous “Whassuuuuup?” ad, done in true bro styles. There’s also more action from the New Zealand Film Awards, and a little Fidels football footage for good measure. 

CD Tracklisting:
01. Juse – Music/Life
02. Fat Freddy’s Drop – Little One
03. The Black Seeds – Keep On Pushing (50Hz remix)
04. Mike Fabulous – (There’s) Something About Africa
05. Spot X – Nice Dub
06. Pitch Black – Unadrumma (Downtown Brown remix)
07. Shapeshifter – Creation
08. Ekto – Disco Cortex
09. Leroy La Qua – The Savage Groove
10. The Nomad – Once Again
11. Max Maxwell – Twilight